hello from the other side

“Appreciate life as it happens. Moments will soon pass and you will wish you had treasured them more.”

I cannot believe that I have already been living in Mexico City for an entire month!!! I have no idea how long I will live here but all I can tell you is that I don’t see myself leaving any time soon. It has been a great month thus far and I wanted to share some of the highlights from January 2017. So, here is a random collection of my month in pictures & some random stories of my struggles! 🙂

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset
January 1, 2017: My day/year/journey began with a 3 hour flight delay due to snow, but hey at least I got this cool last picture of Seattle before leaving.

I will never not be amazed by the view from an airplane window seat. ❤

I rented a room through Airbnb for the month of January. Absolutely loved the apartment I stayed in – my hosts have become my friends, the apartment was in an ideal location and was decorated beautifully! If you sign up for Airbnb with this link you get a $35 credit and I get a $35 credit. It’s a win-win situation, so just do it (plus, you’d be contributing to my travel funds)!

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-7-45-31-pmscreen-shot-2017-02-01-at-7-45-04-pmscreen-shot-2017-02-01-at-7-45-43-pmscreen-shot-2017-02-01-at-7-59-04-pm

*disclaimer: I did not take these pictures of the apartment – they are directly from the Airbnb post.

img_2289
View from the rooftop of my apartment building when we went to admire the first full moon of 2017.

My arrival in Mexico City was not without struggle. Obviously.

  1. My flight from Seattle to Los Angeles was delayed by 3 hours because they had to apply green slime to the entire surface area of the airplane so that it would not freeze mid flight. Casual.
  2. My flight from Los Angeles to Mexico City was delayed by 4 hours because LAX. No further commentary necessary.
  3. Upon arrival in Mexico City, I entered Mexico as a Mexican Citizen for the first time and accidentally filled out the immigration form incorrectly; the immigration officer found no humor in this. Then, I had to navigate through the airport with two 50lb+ suitcases plus a carry on; ’twas not as easy as it may sound. And then, it took me a solid 20 minutes to figure out which terminal I was in so that my Uber driver could find me.
  4. It would be safe to assume that all would be well as soon as I arrived in my apartment. But no, that would be too easy. There were some minor… safety concerns and hot water issues. However, it all simply boiled down to my basic incompetence. I would love to know what my Airbnb hosts thought when it took me over 45 minutes to figure out their instructions for locking a normal door lock and operating an automatic water heater.

I defs struggled a bit during my first day of the year, but after that it has mostly been smooth sailing. A few minor bumps in the road here and there, but nothing major.

There are so many cool places in Mexico City. La Condesa is a super hipster colonia that is a couple blocks away from my apartment and it is the neighborhood I work in. I could walk through this neighborhood for hours and not get bored. It is very pretty, there’s amazing architecture, cute puppies everywhere, so many trees, beautiful fountains, and cool walkways in the middle of the streets.

The food scene in Mexico City is amazinggg. Here are some of the places I have tried so far!

img_2273
Aimee Sidewalk Cafe & Tartinery
img_1258
Páramo
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
EL OCHO Recreational Cafe
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Playing Uno & Drinking Milkshakes
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Ojo de Agua is my fave restaurant in Mexico City. I go here twice a week at least. “#somoshipsters” – jorge
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Acai bowl & Mango juice
img_2280
Mercado Roma
img_2285
Blanco Colima
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Delicious Dessertsss
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Stalking the people sitting below us.
Processed with VSCO with f3 preset
Heavenly corn purchased while riding on a trajinera in Xochimilco.
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
El Pendulo Cafebreria
IMG_2318.JPG
La Xampa

And of course, I have taken part in some tourist activities.

Museo Soumaya

A boat party, the Mexican way – Xochimilco.

img_2319
mariachi bands invading our boat party

Picnic day at Parque Rufino Tamayo with coworkers! 🙂

Castillo Chapultepec

Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
I wish a picture could accurately capture the beauty of the view from this spot.
Processed with VSCO with k2 preset
Castillo Chapultepec

So there ya have it! My month in pictures! Can’t wait to see what February has in store for me! 🙂

Thanks for tuning in friends and fam and strangers.

– Yuli

2 thoughts on “hello from the other side

  1. NICE PICTURES. AT LEAST YOU CAN TAKE SOME BEAUTIFUL PICTURES MIJA. BUT YEAH WHAT AN ADVENTURE. BUT WAIT IT WILL GET BETTER .OH BUT I MEAN IN A GOOD WAY. HOPEFULLY NOTHING ELSE GOES WRONG. MIJA AT LEAST IT SOUNDS AS IF YOUVE LEARNED TO TAKE THINGS CON MAS CALMA. DIOSITO TE BENDIGA

    Like

Leave a Reply

