march madness (or lack thereof)

Fun fact: I just realized that this is the first time in my life that I have gone the entire month of March without hearing about March Madness.

Anyways…ugh, I wish I was better at dedicating time to writing my blog posts because I enjoy it so much and so many things happen that I want to share with you all!! This is my month of March recap and it’s almost May — but, better late than never right? 😱

March was pretty uneventful but still full of fun moments and some minor tragedies as is common in the Life of Yuli. 🙂

Below is a pic of the Angel of Independence looking as beautiful as always. This was taken from the window of my medical insurance office as I tried to get over the fact that an idiot popped my blood vessel while withdrawing blood from my arm for a mandatory blood test. And people continue to ask me why I fear going to the doctor’s office… I texted my mother asking if I should fear for my life as a blue/purple bruise began to form – she told me to stop being over dramatic which tbh I think was a completely uncalled for comment to make. TY Ju-li-o for the huge bruise that lasted 3 weeks on my arm and made me nauseous every time I looked at it!!

IMG_5579

IMG_5580
Ojo de Agua always coming in clutch.
IMG_5581
Cool house in Condesa – I wonder how much it costs… Daddy – I want this for my birthday please. Ty.
IMG_5582
Pretty thingamabob in the middle of a very busy avenue near mi casa.
IMG_5621
A funny and dysfunctional picture of the awesome team that I get to work with! 🙂
IMG_5620
Don’t be fooled by the serene looking Lincoln Park in Polanco. There are squirrels. And they will attack you. You have been warned.

PSA: I have found the best Margherita pizza in Mexico City – it is located on Rio Lerma at a delicious Italian restaurant called Attenti. Hands down a 10/10. 

IMG_5619
Attenti
IMG_5618
Time spent with my current roomies and ex-airbnb roomies is always a good time. Love them all ❤ and tgod they’re all great at cooking because we all know I’m useless.
IMG_5616
Fun birthday celebrations – happy birthday Andrea aka chihuahua aka the one who called me a Mexi-Can.
IMG_5585
Amazing experience at Palacio de Bellas Artes. Read more about it here.
IMG_5622
Happy Birthday to my Star Wars obsessed coworker, Ana. If you are reading this – Star Wars sucks and Harry Potter will always be better.
IMG_5593
“If you are in need of protein just drink a gin cocktail” – said the best bartender in Mexico City, Dany. I will take this advice to heart.

Halfway through March I realized I haven’t been to as many museums in Mexico City as I would like. So I woke up one morning and marched right on over to the Museum of Memory & Tolerance – and wow, what an experience.

This is the first time a museum has made me cry — I left feeling truly moved by the exhibits. There is so much hate and violence in the world it’s astounding, but there are also so many silent heroes that have made extraordinary sacrifices in saving lives even if it was at the cost of their own. A person alone cannot and will not change the world but we all have the power to make a difference.

IMG_5624
Museo Memoria y Tolerancia

IMG_5635

Below is a picture of “El Potencial Perdido” – 20,000 connected crystal tears serving as a memorial to over 2 million children assassinated in genocides all over the world. Lost potential in the loss of so many innocent lives throughout history.

IMG_5590

img_5592.jpg
Asked someone to take a picture of me and this is what I received. Things like this truly push me closer towards making me lose my faith in humanity tbh. But I am just going to pretend that they were trying to be artsy since we were in a museum after all.

IMG_5625   IMG_5626

IMG_5627
“When we look at modern man, we have to face the fact…that modern man suffers from a kind of poverty of the spirit, which stands in glaring contrast to his scientific and technological abundance; we’ve learned to fly the air like birds, we’ve learned to swim the seas like fish, and yet we haven’t learned to walk the Earth as brothers and sisters…” – MLK

IMG_5633   IMG_5634

There was a really interesting exhibit that featured cool murals with a mirror that had Trump videos on replay. I was in there for a while because I was intrigued to hear everyone’s comments. It’s kind of scary to walk through this whole museum and see all the violent things that have happened throughout history and then to see such a resemblance in Trump’s words and actions.

IMG_5640
SER IMIGRANTE NO ES UN DELITO

FullSizeRender 12

IMG_5636
Pretty view from a window inside the museum.

After spending several hours in the Museum of Memory and Tolerance, I decided to walk to El Zocalo and on my way there walked past the beautiful Palace of Fine Arts …

IMG_5589

… and admired the iglesia y antiguo Convento de San Francisco.

IMG_5587  IMG_5586

Then I went home and headed to a birthday celebration. 🙂

IMG_5612
Happy birthday Dani boy 🙂
IMG_5614
Some of my fave and most entertaining people in Mexico City.
IMG_5610
Just a picture of my apartment looking beautiful as always ❤

Found a really cool brunch spot – Jardin de Chapultepec. Bottomless mimosas for 4 hours and over medium eggs with hash browns and toast – felt just like home.

IMG_5613
Picture taken at Jardin Chapultepec. Literally one of the most entertaining days. Still makes me LOL.
IMG_5611
“Morning after feels.” – Tigo
fullsizerender-13.jpg
Meet the cutest puppy in Mexico City – Léon.
IMG_5608
Wearing Crocs in public in Mexico City. The horror.
IMG_5596
Fun little potluck at work. I showed off my cooking skills and brought garlic cheese bread from Dominos. Lol. Received too much backlash from the community – everyone needs to stop judging my life. K thanks.
IMG_5598
This dog doe. She’s a princess.
IMG_5615
Happy birthday Anaid aka Lana del Rey. Flaming Lamborghini – kahlua coffee liqueur, sambuca, blue curacao liqueur, bailey’s, fire, and some cinnamon. Ask her how she felt the next day. Lolz.
IMG_5595
Los Arcos de Queretaro – I had read about these and unexpectedly found myself admiring them as we drove back to my friends apartment.

Welp, there you have it. Just a quick little recap of funny stories from March and random side notes of my life here in la Ciudad de Mexique.

Till next time friends! 😛

*disclaimer: I know this isn’t my best written post nor the most entertaining – but I had to write and share it because I don’t want to forget all the fun things I did in March! 🙂 I promise I will put more effort into the next one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

